Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Normal

Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004 @ 5:25 p.m.

I have a never-ending stream of opinions about the election, but I couldn't have put it any more eloquently than -masala.

My concern in particular is this: Why is Bush and the conservatives so gawddamn adamant on banning gay marriage? In a nutshell, it's their way of saying that gay and lesbians should all drop dead and go to hell. That we don't deserve happy lives. And I don't think that would be a gross exaggeration, because if they did respect our lives like they say they do, they wouldn't have a problem with us sharing domestic bliss as couples. If they saw us as much human as they saw their heterosexual neighbors, they wouldn't have a reason to deny us happiness in this society.

I'm so sick of the Christian right telling us that "you can change, all you need is God, because he is almighty and omnipotent". Well, if he's as "almighty and omnipotent" as you say, he wouldn't have made "mistakes" of creating us. One minute, they'll say "God is love, and He loves all his children". And the next minute, they'll say "God is going to punish you and make you burn in the lake of eternal fire". WHOA, wait a minute... what happened to that gentle, loving God that you mentioned just a minute ago, the one that loves me unconditionally? If God is so perfect and doesn't make mistakes, why would he create us, the "mistakes", only to throw us to hell later on? That's kind of sadistic, and doesn't seem like a very bright thing to do, does it?

Why are they so adamant that we CHOSE this "lifestyle"? What humane reason could we possibly have to CHOOSE this life of secrets, oppression and ridicule? It's a very tough life to live. If we had the choice to be "normal", don't you think that we would have at least the common sense to do so? I tried to be "normal" for over 20 years. If it were in fact possible, wouldn't I have succeeded by now?

They say that we can change. Well, let's start with them trying to get aroused by other people of the same sex. Just as a little thought experiment. Sexual attraction is an instinct, it's hardly a "choice" like they say it is. If it were, shouldn't it work both ways? Wouldn't they be able to "choose" to be aroused by other members of the same sex too? If they can't do it, and if it seems impossible and sick and gross to them, then how do they think that we could? And if we are indeed "mistakes", and we are living "wrongly", then why do they insist that we try to change to be "non-mistakes"? Would you expect a person born without a leg to try to grow one, to be a "non-mistake" too?

Seriously. I believe that I'm a reasonably intellectual person. I listen to reason and logic, not fables and myths. If you give me even one small, tiny, good reason to believe that my sexuality is a choice like you say it is, I would gladly change my opinion. And if you want to use the bible, picking out only parts that is convenient to your argument, I suggest that you pick the book of Leviticus, it's quite a popular one. But before you do, let me remind you of these passages that are in that same book:

"You shall not shave around the sides of your head, nor shall you disfigure the edges of your beard." (Leviticus 19:27)

"They shall not make any bald place on their heads, nor shall they shave the edges of their beards nor make any cuttings in their flesh." (Leviticus 21:5)

So let's see... that means all clean-shaven men, people with tattoos and Vin Diesel will be joining me in the lake of eternal flames. I'm not trying to be a smart-ass. It says so right there in the bible, the passages that you skipped in preparing that sermon of yours to persecute my sexuality.

I'm honestly not trying to spite Christianity. It's really not my purpose to win this debate. I want to be "normal". I want to be proven wrong. I want to be attracted to girls, and take them out, and love them, and be able to show my affection in public. I want to live a life free of secrets, where I don't have any parts of my life that I am ashamed of, parts that makes me a "freak". I want to live a life free of lies; to be able to tell my parents when I'm happily in love and to seek comfort and consolation from them when my romantic life goes awry.

If it were all possible like you say it is, don't you think I would have done it already?

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009