Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Conspiracy theory

Wednesday, Jul. 28, 2004 @ 2:18 p.m.

I've been busy with my newest toy - a brand new XBox!! So yeah, that's why I've been neglecting this diary. Just for the time being. I hope.

Anyway, getting this new XBox was quite an adventure. As life would have it, whenever you want something, it's never there; but when you're not looking for it, it's everywhere. I've been thinking for months prior about whether to get a PlayStation 2 or an XBox, and when I finally come to a decision 3 months later to get an XBox, they're sold out everywhere. French Fitch and I drove around to so many stores this past weekend in search of that damn machine.

The first place was sold out, so we went to another place across the street, and it was out too. And then we went to another store in an adjacent city, only to see - right before my very eyes - the very last set being taken away by a loser-gamer/geek right in front of me. I mean... come on! What were the odds?? We were both in line for customer service, and the idiot right in front of me asks for - of ALL things - an XBox. And when he left, the customer service woman told me that it was their last set. ARGGGHHHH.

So finally, after another long drive to another city, we FINALLY got our hands on one.

Which really just affirms another inevitable law of this funny, cruel thing we call 'life'. Whenever you decide that you want something, suddenly, the whole world decides that they want it too. And they always seem to snap it up before you.

Like the day French Fitch came back to town. I was driving to the airport to pick him up, and the freeway was horribly jammed up, bumper to bumper. The opposite direction, however, was smooth as hell. So I thought, well, once I pick French Fitch up, the return journey on the other direction of the freeway should be a breeze. Right?

WRONG.

On our way back, the previously clear freeway was now jammed up - a mere 20 minutes later - whereas the opposite side that I was stuck on (and where I wasted 40 minutes of my life that I'm never gonna get back), was suddenly and miraculously zooming freely. WHY!??!?!?!????? Is everyone going to the airport to pick someone up at the very exact same time that I'm going to? Don't the airlines have a zillion other schedules? If so, why does it seem like the entire population of LA seems to be flying in at the same, exact time?!?

See what I mean? It never fails. When you don't want or need anything, everything is wide open and available. But when you need something or need to go somewhere, suddenly EVERYONE decides they want it too, and take it before you get to it, or completely jam up a usually smooth-flowing freeway. I can think of a million other examples, like trying to get a cab when you need one (good luck).

It's a conspiracy, I tell you.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009