Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

I got internet in my computer

Saturday, Jun. 26, 2004 @ 11:14 a.m.

I've been experiencing a general lack of enthusiasm lately. I think it's tied to my being on vacation and not really having any daily agendas. So each day has pretty much been passing mundanely. Which I love, but it makes me really boring.

One cool thing about the new place is that I'm getting free wireless internet access. I actually paid for DSL service, but for some reason, the Apple AirPort doesn't seem to want to give out more than 1 wireless signal at one time. That means that only 1 computer can be connected at any time, which doesn't work, since between French Fitch and me, we have 4 computers. So one day, while trying to get a darn signal from the AirPort, I accidentally stumbled upon another signal that my wireless port received that required no access passwords. So right now, French Fitch is connected directly to the DSL with one computer, and my Mac is connected via the bootlegged signal. Which works to a certain extent, but the signal I'm getting is pretty weak, and it's really slow.

French Fitch called up the DSL company to find out why we couldn't network our 4 computers, but all the stupid, incompetent people on the helpline said was that they only knew how to work PC's and not Macs. Now I really, REALLY hate it when I pay for a service and it doesn't go right, and all that "customer service" can tell me is "sorry, we can't fix it, you're gonna have to deal with it". I wish I can be their boss for a day and say that "sorry, we can't give you your paychecks, you're gonna have to deal with it". This company has a shit-load to learn about service.

Speaking of broadband technology, George Dubya gave a speech about it a couple of days ago. It makes me laugh when he attempts to talk about technology. There's this widely-circulated picture on the internet of him trying to look out through a pair of binoculars with its lens caps still on. If he can't work technological advances made a century ago, what makes him qualified to talk about modern ones? I bet if his speeches weren't written by other people, he'd say hilarious things like "It's important for Americans to have internets at home." Heh. Or something like "Every household has access to broadband technology. Not only that, high-speed technology too." Or maybe a few other sentences with his favorite words, "freedom" and "liberty" in them.

Let's see... off the top of my head, I'm thinking "America has to lead the world in freedom and liberty, even in the internets each household receives. Each internet on every computer will be cutting-edge broadband technology. Not only that, they'll be high-speed too."

Eeheeheehee! Stick to eating pretzels without choking, stupid boy. Enjoy your job as assistant to the vice president while it lasts.

ADVERTISEMENT: Everyone, be sure to go watch "Fahrenheit 9/11"!!!!

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009