Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

For endless frustration, please press 1.

Saturday, May. 08, 2004 @ 12:00 p.m.

Why is it that most companies have automated phone answering systems these days to increase efficiency, but the option that you want is never one of the choices? I tried calling my phone company because they over-charged me, but NONE of the gawd damn options were for me. It really annoys me to no end. What must I do to talk to a real, live person?!? And it's not the only time it's happened. Every single time I've had to go through the automated phone answering system maze, the choice I want is NEVER there. So what good is this damn system??

Even worse are the kinds that *attempt* to be smart by asking you to speak out your choices. It can't get more annoying.

Me: "I'd like to find out about an overcharge on my bill."

Machine: "You'd like to buy an oven and a grill?"

Me: "NO! I want to find out about my BILL!"

Machine: "You'd like to grind up some veal?"

Me: "F@$#&?%!!!!!"

Machine: "Sorry, you're having trouble. Please hang up and try again."

ARGGGHHH. And if you want to search for a direct customer service phone number on the website, it can never be found. I wonder how these companies do business if they're avoiding contact with the public and bugging the shit out of their customers with their dumb phone robots. Why is it so gawd damn hard to talk to a real, live person?? What are their employees doing???

But well, the aggravation from my little run-in with the unbelieveably vexing phone maze was minimal. I've been smiling so much over the past few days... I still can't believe I got accepted to Dream College. This weekend is a big celebration for me, and I'm not gonna do anything but relax. No homework. Not that it differs much from all the other weekends, but this one is just special. So there.

French Fitch and I are having dinner tonight with Louis. I haven't seen Louis in a while... before I met French Fitch, I used to hang out with him every single weekend. But well... ever since I got "married and buried" (as Louis says), I'm still trying to maintain a close relationship with him. I call him just about every week, and we've had lunch on a few occassions. We used to go out to the bars and clubs every weekend, but now that I've been in a relationship (for almost 10 months now, woohoo!), those aren't exactly the best places for a couple to go. French Fitch and I have gone out to The Abbey (the bar where we met) a few times, but each time, he got hit on non-stop that I felt like I was hauling a bag full of money through a dark, thug-infested alley. I'm just insecure, I guess.

But anyway, it'd be great to see Louis again. If Tarzan were in town I'd invite him along as well, but too bad he's busy whoring around in New York. I thought of calling him a few times, but got turned off by his ADD.

In any case, this is gonna be a GREAT weekend of celebration and alcohol, and nothing's going to dampen my spirits!

Unless I try calling the phone company again. They might just about make me murder someone.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009