Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Cor blimey!

Sunday, Apr. 25, 2004 @ 11:14 a.m.

There goes the weekend, all zooming by again. Sigh. Good thing all my exams were last week and I have a relatively easy week ahead of me.

I had a dream last night that I was in London. Which is really strange, 'cos I've never been to London before, but I just knew in my dream that I was in London, and my brain just assumed all these buildings and streets that was London. Dreams are such strange phenomena. In my dream, I knew my way around as if I'd lived there all my life. At one point I was looking for a letter, and I actually had the memory that I'd left it in the paper tray on my table. And then I went to meet with a bunch of friends... no wait, I should say a bunch of mates. In my dream, I had a long history with all of them. But when I woke up, I realized that I'd completely never seen those faces before in my life. And I was speaking with an English accent to boot. (Ooh, how sexy was I?)

Granted, it wasn't a very exciting dream, but it amazes me how it just seemed so natural to me to assume that whole different life. I knew my way around this place I've never been to before, and I knew all these people that I've never met in my life. There's been many times when I've dreamed that I was in a whole new unfamiliar place, but I just knew I was at home or somewhere familiar, even though everything looks different.

I'm constantly wondering what it would be like to live in Europe. London, France, maybe even Italy... but London more than anywhere else. All I know about these cities is basically what I see on the Discovery Channel and stuff that French Fitch tells me. But somehow, I do have an idea of what it's like to live there (don't ask me how, my brain's all weird and presumptious that way), and I'm sure I would very much prefer living there to living here. The beauty, the culture, the history... so much to soak up. Being the urbanite that I am, I have an attraction to real cities like New York (Los Angeles is so not a real city!!), which is pretty European in architecture. Maybe that's where I get this idea of what living in London might be.

Gah, I'm boring today. It's warm. A very lazy Sunday afternoon. Don't feel like doing anything. It sucks that summer's coming... I don't like hot weather.

I really have nothing to say. I'd better stop here before I bore myself to sleep. Darn this warm weather. It slows my brain down.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009