Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Version 2.0 - More rants, more raves!

Sunday, Apr. 18, 2004 @ 12:49 p.m.

Woohoo, I made a new title image!! I got so sick of the old one... it wasn't very urban. It was only supposed to be temporary, anyway... and I wasn't planning on doing anything about it until a certain *ahem* FrIEND makes me a new layout. Which I'm still waiting for. So I'm now just waiting for it with a new look :) I'm a total urbanite - I don't think I can survive anywhere else other than a big city. Yeah, I'm a slave to modern conveniences. And reality television.

It's Sunday today... which means only one thing: DREAD. School tomorrow. And I have 2 exams lined up this week. Both of which have absolutely nothing to do with my major. Awesome.

I never really got the point of cross-disciplinary exams, really... they're too unnecessarily rigorous. Let's say I want to be a chemist. Why would I have to get an 'A' in totally non-related stuff like sociology or anthropology? I get the whole point about the 'well-rounded education' thing, but colleges expect you to get the same excellent 'A'-grade as those people in the class who are REALLY sociology or anthropology majors. I don't think it makes sense. Why can't we learn just enough of these subjects instead of being experts in them? What does figuring out the chemical structure of cis-2-methylcyclopentanecarboxylic acid have to do with when Emile Durkheim lived or died? I don't need to know these extra shit unless I'm trying to be a contestant on Jeopardy or Who wants to be a Millionaire. Which I don't plan on doing.

Which brings me to the actual exams... why is it again that we have to memorize so much stuff like mathematical formulas and such? If I'm a mathematician professionally, and I need the integral of a function, I can simply LOOK IT UP. It's not that hard. The reason why professionals know everything in their heads is because they're doing their jobs every friggin' day, and even if they had half a brain, stuff will stick in their heads. It's the routine, not the measure of intelligence, fer cryin' out loud. Just because person A can remember a formula better than person B doesn't make B a dumb-ass. All B has to do is look it up in a minute, and voila - same friggin' correct answer. So I just wish they'd just quit trying to gauge our intelligence by how much useless crap we can memorize.

We need our brain cells for stuff that are more important. Like video games. And naps. And reality television.

Yeah.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009