Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Average Jane

Tuesday, Mar. 30, 2004 @ 11:00 a.m.

I'm ashamed to admit that I've been following the whole "Average Joe" thing since the very beginning. Well, I'm a sucker for reality television, so what's to stop me from getting hooked onto another one?

Anyway, I've only caught one episode of the latest season (Average Joe: Adam Returns)... and for some reason, I got drawn to one of the ladies - Jennifer Lifshitz. In the episode I saw last week, there was this interview with her where she broke down, saying that she's never had a real boyfriend before. She's always acting so cheerful and happy, and I can see that she's a very bubbly, lively, and spontaneous girl. My heart was just crushed at the end of that interview, where she said something like "I'm very open, all you have to do is let me in and show you who I am". She was struggling to keep that smile on her face, but couldn't hold her tears away. Gawd, I was on the verge of tears myself as I saw that interview. I wanted her to win, or at least last till the last round or something.

But gawddammit, she got eliminated last night. She didn't even get a chance to go on a one-on-one private date with that Adam loser, so he probably didn't even know her at all. She didn't stand a chance.

This world is such a cruel, cruel place because no matter how much we debate about it, looks DO matter. Biologically, it's the survival of the fittest. Whoever attracts the most mates gets to pass his/her genes to the next generation, and those who don't, simply perish. And humans claim that they're so much higher on the hierarchy in the animal kingdom, but let's face it... we're really not that much different from the savage beasts. Attraction matters. It's survival; it's Darwinism. And it SUCKS.

True, there ARE people out there who go for personality when searching for a mate. But these battles aren't won on first impressions. You don't see a person's personality right off the bat, you have to get to know him or her. And most people don't have the patience for that. Initial attraction seals the deal.

Part of the reason why I love the "Average Joe" series is because I think it's a great experiment on human nature and behavior. This Adam guy got a good taste of what it felt like to be jilted for someone more attractive. The girls from the first 2 seasons proved that they went for looks more than personality. But now, Adam's doing just the same. I think we can draw a conclusion here. It wouldn't have bugged me as much if he got to know everyone and eliminated them because they weren't compatible - that's only fair. But Jennifer Lifshitz didn't even stand a chance. And it breaks my heart even more to see people trying to fight back their tears but succumb. I guess I'm just a sympathetic wuss that way.

During her last interview, Jennifer said that she was disappointed Adam never got to know what she's about, and that hopefully, someone out there will.

And I really hope someone does.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009