Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

Hot off the press!

Friday, Mar. 26, 2004 @ 11:08 a.m.

I had a pretty interesting past 2 days. French Fitch had a meeting with some big-wig who was considering giving him a really huge gig. The meeting went pretty well, but French Fitch just needed to impress him a little bit more so that he would be locked in. And it turned out that the big-wig ran a monthly magazine that looked really, really tacky (It's not a big, major publication). I mean, the cover design was awful. It looked like a low-budget supermarket-trashy-tabloid thing, which it in fact wasn't. I would post a picture of it here, except that I can't, due to my self-imposed privacy/anonymity clause. Also, I don't wanna get sued by the aforementioned magazine, so... yeah. No picture.

But anyway, I was given the task (via French Fitch) of doing a make-over for the look of the magazine. The goal was to class it up, and to make it look like a pseudo-high-fashion magazine. So I spent almost an entire day on it, and well... not to toot my own horn or anything, but I am pretty darn pleased with it :) So French Fitch showed it (along with a few variations I did with different pictures) to the big-wig yesterday, and he was very pleasantly surprised and thrilled. I believe he even said something like "if we're not doing it like this, then we're not doing it at all". So... yay, me! *Pats self on the back* :) It sucks that I'm just the background worker, but as long as it made French Fitch look good, it's worth it. And apparently it did, and now he has not just one but a couple more gigs on the line up, which is totally awesome! And he was so happy with the whole meeting and my work that he's taking me out to a nice, romantic dinner tonight! Ahhh, la passion chaude d'un homme romantique!

Plus, there's also the possibility of me getting a gig doing covers and stuff on the side for the magazine! Which is really cool, but I'm not sure if it'll happen. The main reason: I'm not really a graphic designer. Sure, I love fiddling around with Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop, but I'm not exactly over-the-top phenomenal with graphic design, and I wouldn't wanna bite off more than I could chew. And there's also the I'm-a-biology-major-at-college thing going on, so yeah... I'm not so sure about that. But on the other hand, I would love doing this gig on the side to make some extra money. And money is goooood.

So... ACK, dilemma.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009