Navigate

Contact

Credits

Urban Cadence

The Contriver vs. The Daydreamer

Monday, Mar. 22, 2004 @ 2:59 p.m.

I find two distinct parts of myself in constant conflict all the time. On one side lies the sensible, hardworking, plan-for-the-future Contriver, while on the other side, the lazy, pleasure-motivated, care-free Daydreamer.

The Daydreamer dominated most of today. While most upright people of society today frown upon bums - individuals who do nothing to contribute to society, and whose only motivation in life is the pursuit of pleasure, I secretly desire to be one myself.

Don't get me wrong, I don't mean "bum" as in the homeless beggars on the streets. I mean "bum" more in the sense of a sybarite; a person who's addicted to luxury and pleasures of the senses, a hedonist if you will, but with more desires than just debauchery. Of course, this only works under the assumption that I'd have all the money I need to support that lifestyle. I wish I could do absolutely NOTHING everyday, just satisfying whatever I feel like doing, whenever I feel like doing it. I wish that I could spend my entire life as a summer vacation. Every single day. Here's what I basically did every day last summer:

  1. Wake up

  2. Watch TV

  3. Have brunch/lunch

  4. Go shopping

  5. Go home

  6. Take a nap

  7. Play games on the computer

  8. Make out with French Fitch

  9. Have dinner

  10. Do a little dance

  11. Make a little love

  12. Get down tonight

  13. Go to sleep

  14. Repeat above steps tomorrow

Ahhh, life was great.

But the strange thing about me is that The Contriver dominates equally strongly. I do have goals and ambitions, and I do want to fulfill them. I am a planner when it comes to life... but I just don't like to talk about The Contriver very much because he's very boring and makes me sound very uncool. But he's very much there most of the time. Except for today. The Daydreamer kicked his ass.

Anyway, the thing is... I skipped a class today because I'd rather come home to play The Sims. Also, I was working on a business card design for French Fitch (I love doing graphic design), and I'd really much rather do that than go to class . At least for today. The Contriver can kiss my pretty little bubble-shaped ass, I'm partying with The Daydreamer!

(I know that The Contriver will probably get me back tomorrow using his favorite and most effective weapon on me: GUILT. *Thunder claps and bloody screams*... But to hell with it... I'll worry about it tomorrow.)

P/S. In case you're wondering, we're really not schizophrenic. We swear.

PreviousNext

Recent Entries

Yoohoo... - Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009
The Prude - Saturday, Aug. 01, 2009
Filler/Teaser - Friday, Jul. 31, 2009
Rest in peace, Squeaky... - Sunday, Jun. 21, 2009
California - where discrimination is legal! - Tuesday, May. 26, 2009